Devta Name/Local Name/Vedic Name Chamunda Mata
Type (Rishi, Nag, etc) Devi
Powering Divinity (Jogini) Lanari Mahadev, Ganpati and Kartik Swami
Associated Devtas Local fairs including Bhanogi Mela and Saja in April/may are celebrated.
Annual Fair (attended by which other deity) Shivji, Ganpati and Kartik Swami
Dussehra Participation/Place Kullu


Location Distance from Kullu Directions Stay Options
Nashala 22 km Kullu-Naggar-Nashala Home Stay/ Hotels/
Rest Houses at Naggar


When the cruelty of Mahishasur reached the extremes then the powers of Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh and other gods collectively r took the form of a Devi. Before killing Mahishasur, the devi annihilated other rakshasas. Among these were the Chand and Mund. Hence the devi came to be known as Chamunda. When the devi was returning after killing the Chand and Mund her image fell on Nashala. Therefore devi Chamunda appeared in Nashala. The devi has slanting (Pheta) rath with 15 mohras. Devi travels to Manikaran and Vashisht on pilgrimage. Original temple is quite old, said to have been constructed more than 500 hundred years back and it has been reconstructed twenty years ago. Jamdani and Naag devta also have their place in the temple complex.

1.) Kaardaar – Hari Prakash Sharma ☎-9816890794
2.) Goor- Swaru Ram ☎-
3.) Priest/ ‘Pajiara’ – Pyare Lal ☎-98164-12460
Social Media –  ☎-
4.) Bhandari
5.) Kuthiala
6.) Ganthidaar
7.) Paalsara
8.) Kayath
9.) Banth
10.) Jathali
11.) Dhami
12.) Mohta
13.) Phoolahri
14.) Bausan/ Nagaari
15.) Karwal
16.) Jathera/Pogaldar
17.) Nashandar
18.) Naud
19.) Swangi
20.) Wari
21.) Badhei
22.) Sonar/Thathiaya
23.) Neehar
24.) Purohit
25.) Gayak
26.) Jamaani
27.) Bajantri

Devta Haariyan is the clan which follows the particular devta or devi – it can be a village or various villages or many parts of the district which follows the devta in functions, fair and festivals etc.

Write A Comment

English» हिंदी अनुवाद »