Devta Name/Local Name/Vedic Name Markanday Rishi/ Deu Markandey
Type (Rishi, Nag, etc) Rishi
Powering Divinity (Jogini) Chuda Pathru
Associated Devtas Devta Daradu, Nagadu, Devta , Shaman Devta Jakh, Sand , Sader, Khudi Madaran
Annual Fair (attended by which other deity) Chetar Navratar Poojan, Nirsu, Vaishakh and Shadnoo. Markanday Rishi, Nor
Dussehra Participation/Place No


Location Distance from Kullu Directions Stay Options
Shalaat 212 km Kullu-Aut-Banjar-Jalori Pass-Ani-Nirmand-Shalaat Hotels and rest houses at Nirmand.


About the emergence of Markandey Rishi, according to the Bharta, in the beginning of the Kaliyug, a divine power landed on the earth and took the form of a Pindi, a small round oblong stone, at a place called Lahul-Bajhud in Lahaul-Spiti. That pindi took birth in seven different forms of sages and they settled at seven different places like Bajhaud, Trilokinath, Bharas, Manglour, Balagarh, Ishwa and Nor. One of the brothers sat in meditation here. The rest reached at Trilokinath. They lighted a lamp here. One of them sat in meditation here. Others moving ahead crossed the Rohtang Jot and from there saw Bhekhlidhar. Moving ahead they reached at Dhungri where they met Dhungri Devi. They were offered Baitha Raj, offer to settle, by the devi but they showed unwillingness. Furhter they moved to Bhekhali and met Bhekhali Devi. Then they reached at Shamshari. The place was under the dominance of Rana Mungdu whom they eradicated. Moving ahead they reached at Tharas and one of them sat in meditation here. Another one sat at Manglor in Banjar. The others reached Balegad in Banjar. The remaining two sages reached at Maruti Seri crossing through Jalori Jot. They finally reached at Shaidhar behind Ishwa village. There they killed the wicked Rana of the place. One of them moved to Ishwa and the other one settled at Nor. At Nor it took birth in the form of Markandey Rishi. The deity has eight mohras.

1.) Kaardaar – ☎-
2.) Goor- ☎-
3.) Priest/ ‘Pajiara’ – ☎-
Social Media ☎-
4.) Bhandari
5.) Kuthiala
6.) Ganthidaar
7.) Paalsara
8.) Kayath
9.) Banth
10.) Jathali
11.) Dhami
12.) Mohta
13.) Phoolahri
14.) Bausan/ Nagaari
15.) Karwal
16.) Jathera/Pogaldar
17.) Nashandar
18.) Naud
19.) Swangi
20.) Wari
21.) Badhei
22.) Sonar/Thathiaya
23.) Neehar
24.) Purohit
25.) Gayak
26.) Jamaani
27.) Bajantri

Devta Haariyan is the clan which follows the particular devta or devi – it can be a village or various villages or many parts of the district which follows the devta in functions, fair and festivals etc.

English» हिंदी अनुवाद »