Devta Name/Local Name/Vedic Name Nagela
Type (Rishi, Nag, etc) Nag
Powering Divinity (Jogini)
Associated Devtas Shaman, Khudijal, PanchVeer Dhaul Devta, Kali.
Annual Fair (attended by which other deity) Virshu on 8 day of Vaishakh.
Dussehra Participation/Place No


Distance from Kullu Directions Stay Key Contact
Damehali Gram Panchayat Baadi 209 km Kullu-Aut-Banjar-Jalori Pass-Ani-Nirmand-Damehali Hotels and rest Houses at Nirmand


Budhi Nagin a serpent goddess lived in the Sareulsar lake. Nagela Nag was one of her nine sons. He was anguished when he saw his mother weeping. He came to know that some bad spirit was causing his mother trouble. To get rid of this, one day, Nagela Dev threw up dust towards the sky which caused rain of capsules of iron which fell on the bad spirit and killed him. The he came to Nirmand and asked for a suitable place from Devi Ambika. Staying there for few days, then again moving to other places ultimately he reached at Kandu, Damaihli, the place of Rai Nag. Here Rai Nag got impressed by his magical powers and provided him a place to settle. The devta has nine mohras.

1.) Kaardaar – ☎-
2.) Goor- ☎-
3.) Priest/ ‘Pajiara’ – ☎-
Social Media ☎-
4.) Bhandari
5.) Kuthiala
6.) Ganthidaar
7.) Paalsara
8.) Kayath
9.) Banth
10.) Jathali
11.) Dhami
12.) Mohta
13.) Phoolahri
14.) Bausan/ Nagaari
15.) Karwal
16.) Jathera/Pogaldar
17.) Nashandar
18.) Naud
19.) Swangi
20.) Wari
21.) Badhei
22.) Sonar/Thathiaya
23.) Neehar
24.) Purohit
25.) Gayak
26.) Jamaani
27.) Bajantri

Devta Haariyan is the clan which follows the particular devta or devi – it can be a village or various villages or many parts of the district which follows the devta in functions, fair and festivals etc.

English» हिंदी अनुवाद »